Final Post @+2 years.

Published on by Stevie Holt

I so wish I could say that this is my final post because Im off to live my life happily ever after but sadly thats not the case. After hours of time spent contemplating wether to post or not, I decided its only right to be honest, as I have been throughout my journey, and to let people know every cloud doesn't always have a silver lining.

Throughout my blog I've listed the ups and downs, and my final blog, though maybe not what people want to read, is a true account of when HSCT doesn't work.

Not wishing to repeat myself, I will only refer to the last 3 months.

Whilst "walking" with my rollator my balance left me and I tried to move my right leg to support myself. My leg didn't move and I fell, breaking my right hand and wrist. The local hospital put me in plaster from my knuckles to my elbow, which was really annoying as my legs and left arm and hand are virtually useless anyway. My balance never really returned and my wife called my consultant at the National in London to bring an appointment forward as things were getting worse. My speech was all over the place as was my swallowing and all strength left me. I couldn't feed myself or cut up my food.

So Carol left a message with his secretary and to my surprise he called me at 8pm that night and wanted to admit me there and then. I was in bed and we agreed I'd go in the next day.

After numerous tests and a lumbar puncture for brain and spinal tumours and a brain infection called PML (all negative), they came to the conclusion that I was having a relapse. Didn't think that was possible in PPMS, then the Neuros said that I had progressed to PRMS.

I then contracted pneumonia as well as a water infection and along with the broken hand and wrist and the news that HSCT hadn't worked, things were pretty tough!!!

I was in hospital for 3 weeks. I have been in touch with Dr Fedorenko who said that situation is difficult and unfortunately 20-30% fail HSCT and have progression. I knew that before I went to Moscow and know my status now is nothing to do with Dr F and Anastasia and the treatment I received. I want to make it clear that the team in Moscow are brilliant and I 100% believe in HSCT and even though I failed HSCT this time, maybe I'll be successful the next........!!

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post